• Categories

  • Backlog

Firefox: Hide Bookmark Toolbar Icons

I know a few people that just have the various favicons only displaying on the bookmark toolbar. I tried this and hated it. After several days the favicons would just disappear, and a blank white page would be there. To see what link it was I had to hover and get the title. After a searching, I got it to work.

First off, it is wise to install ChromeEdit, an extension that allows you to edit your Firefox profile. Once installed you can open ChromeEdit from Tools > Edit User Files. All you will need is the first tab, userChrome.css. You just can paste the following into the bottom of the textbox and it save.

/* Hide bookmark icons in the Personal Toolbar */
toolbarbutton.bookmark-item > .toolbarbutton-icon {
display: none; }

You will need to restart Firefox to see the results.

If you don’t want to install the ChromeEdit extension, you can do the following:

  • Locate the chrome directory: C:\Documents and Settings\[User Name]\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\[Profile Name]\chrome\
  • Create the file userChrome.css – the title is important
  • Paste the above CSS code in
  • Save
  • Start up FireFox

I found this pretty helpful in saving toolbar space, I went from almost a full toolbar to just over half full.

Update: I have disabled comments here in order to get more traffic for my personally hosted blog, and also this same post on that blog.

Technorati Tags: , ,

7 Responses

  1. Would there be a way of making the font in the bookmark tool bar smaller, instead of getting rid of the icons. Or for that matter making the icons half the size?

    I think that would be the best of both worlds

  2. Hi Gabe: To make the font size smaller use:

    toolbarbutton.bookmark-item {
    font-size:{pick a size};
    }

    Note: if you make the text smaller, the height of the toolbar doesn’t get smaller. Maybe there is a class I don’t know what it is…
    I played with the icon size, and I didn’t get it to budge. I am guessing because the icons are favicons, which are a fixed size. Also I was just trying common sense names, but nothing.

  3. Hey Thanks a lot Ryan

    just as a note for others that might want to change the font. I got rid of the {} for the ‘pick a size’ and added 7pt as an example:

    toolbarbutton.bookmark-item {
    font-size:7pt;
    }

  4. No problem Gabe. Sorry I should’ve specified that, I assumed too much.

  5. I have a bookmark question for you. I added the del.icio.us bookmark extension to see how it is. I then inadvertently hid my regular bookmarks and now I cannot figure out how to get them back. Can you point me in the right direction?

  6. Nevermind. I found it. Sorry about that. Anyway for your readers. If they have added del.icio.us and inadvertently hid the bookmarks menu at the top of the screen, here is how you can get it back.

    Go to Tools > Options > del.icio.us > Advanced.

    Clear the “Hide the standard firefox bookmarks menu” checkbox.

    VOILA

  7. Igoo
    I am glad you figured it out, but please keep the comments on topic. What My post is and what you are asking about are really not the same at all.

Comments are closed.

